concrete floor diy

When I get an idea in my head there is no messing around, I just go for it. Sometimes that works in my favor and sometimes I create little disasters. About a month ago I was searching on Pinterest for some flooring ideas. I kept seeing these beautiful marble like floors, and it turns out they were concrete. The carpet that I had in my house was almost 20 years old so I am sure you can imagine the dusty grimy condition it was in. White carpet with kids and a dog hmmm… Another HUGE issue that pushed me towards concrete flooring was my struggle with Asthma. I was having increasingly more trouble breathing in my house so I knew something had to be done. The final push towards concrete floors was the cost… um hello… none. I researched staining my floor once it was finished but once I uncovered mine I fell in love with the way they naturally looked.

I used three tools to pull up my carpet, a razor blade, crow bar, and a hammer. There are three simple (but labor intensive) phases to the process. The first one is cutting up the carpet in sizes that are easy to roll up and carry (razor blade). The second is pulling up the tack strips along the edges of the room (crow bar and hammer). And third is disposing of the carpet, padding and tack strips.

Taking up carpet was hard work but the end result was so satisfying that the process seemed to go quickly. I was unable to walk without pain for a few days after though haha! I used some muscles I had not even thought of in years let alone used. If you can recruit some helpers the process will be way better!

A lot of people have asked me if the floors are cold. I haven’t noticed them being any different than a tile or wood floor. So that doesn’t really bother me at all. Plus sweeping is so easy now, and if I miss a few days of cleaning the camouflage factor is on point!

If you have any questions I would be happy to answer them in the comments!

xo,

color me ashley

Processed with VSCO with f3 preset

carpet before

Processed with VSCO with f3 preset

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

Processed with VSCO with f3 presetIMG_8311

2 thoughts on “concrete floor diy

  1. Brenda says:

    LOVE it! My friend had them in her apartment in Florida and I fell in love. Hers were polished but looked a lot like yours ! Great job

    Like

Leave a Reply

