Be Devoted in Love

13658960_947840654363_5610360214850664460_n

“There are other parents dealing with the same things I am, I’m sure of it. Help me look beyond myself and find them. Give me others to care for and love on. I’m not very far down this path, but I’m willing to walk it with others who are hurting. Show me how I can find others who feel the same way I do. Open my eyes to see them when they pass through my daily comings and goings. Don’t let me become so self absorbed that I miss the opportunity to share Your love with those I encounter. Use this situation to stretch me and teach me more about You. Show me how I can love those who are also hurting.”

Romans 12:10 Be devoted to one another in love. Honor one another above yourselves.

I have been reading a beautiful book called While My Child is Away. It is a book of prayers wrote for mothers and fathers who have to be without their children for a multitude of reasons, not just divorce. I find myself reading these prayers late at night when I can feel the sadness and loneliness start to creep in. I would definitely recommend snatching that one up on Amazon.

One of the best ways I have learned to deal with grief and loneliness is to start investing in and loving on others. For too long my focus was on my own problems and I couldn’t see that others around me were also hurting and this realization was life changing. Sometimes we try and fill a void with temporary things of this world, and that is a recipe for a very unsatisfying and lonely life trust me.

16265871_10100104269117443_4607191859389514854_n

 

I am thankful for God constantly tugging at my heart reminding me that His plan is better than my own. Stepping out in faith I have made some of the best friends I’ve ever had this past year. We are all in the river together, spreading the love of Jesus in our own unique ways, laughing until it hurts, crying, crafting like crazy women, and raising our families together. After church today we all went out for lunch and I couldn’t help but look around the table with Thanksgiving for this life I am now living, I wish I would have listened to Him sooner! Ha!

Maybe you are in the same boat I was in a few years ago… lost and searching. Maybe there are some people you need to cut out of your life or maybe you are doing things you aren’t very proud of. No matter where you are right now God is calling you to a better life. He loves you and wants only the BEST for you. Surrender to Him and give yourself the freedom to start swimming and splashing in the river with those who will be devoted to you in His love.

xo,

color me ashley

3 thoughts on “Be Devoted in Love

Leave a Reply

